Skip to content

MERGE Blogtour: Long Way Down by Yvonne Reid Review and Giveaway!

May 29, 2012

Long Way Down by Yvonne Reid

Set in a world reeling from the discovery of transhumans, MERGE is a series of thirteen short stories that charts the loves, the betrayals, and the struggle for survival in a world where humans and transhumans are uneasy neighbours. Tensions are high, riots are brewing. The human race is about to come undone.

Long Way Down is one of thirteen short stories in the MERGE series. This is the second story released by 1889 Labs, and let me tell you, MERGE is off to a cracking start! While I’m deeply curious and excited to see how all these stories will hold up together, I never once felt I was missing something while reading Long Way Down. Not having the advantage of reading the rest of the series before hand, I truly feel this story is strong enough to stand on it’s own. I’m only sad there isn’t more.

Though I’ll never turn down a longer read, one of the things I’ve come to love about short stories is the economical use of language. Every word must count and Ms. Reid does a fantastic job of telling an understated and intriguing story about a “free agent” tasked with tracking down and bringing in a Transhuman. As the story is only 11 pages, it would be very difficult to give away any more of the plot without dipping into massive spoiler territory. Sufficed to say, if you’ve read other 1889 Labs books and loved them? I have no doubt that you will enjoy this one as much as I did.I really hope 1889 Labs decides to continue this series or do spin off novels with continuing threads because I would love to read more about Leo Harrison, the “free agent”, and his team.

But you guys don’t have to take my word for it. Head on over to 1889 Labs and get a copy of Yvonne Reid‘s Long Way Down for yourself.

Then come back here and tell me what sort of Transhuman abilities you’d want or just leave a comment to let me know you want your name tossed into the hat. I’ll draw one name and the winner will be awarded any 1889 Labs book they want. Contest ends Friday, June 20th, 2012 at Midnight EST.

Don’t forget there are other prizes to be won (Recap below!) by commenting here and on all the other wonderful sponsor’s posts, subscribing to the MERGE mailinglist, pointing fellow book junkies towards 1889 Labs’ facebook page, and tweeting with the hashtag #merge1889.

First place: brand new iPad + ecopy of entire MERGE anthology
Second place: ecopy of entire MERGE anthology + $10 amazon/iTunes voucher
Third place: ecopy of 4 MERGE stories of choice Β + $10 amazon/iTunes voucher

Winners will be announced on June 20th, which is 1889 Labs’ 6th birthday. On the same day we will release the full MERGE anthology.

Readers can enter to win by:
– Subscribing to merge mailing list =5 entries
– Like 1889 labs Facebook page = 2 entries
– Tweet using #merge1889 = 1 entry, once per day
– Comment on a blog tour stop = 1 entry.Β  – The MERGE Press Release

39 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 10:05 am

    I would want to have some sort of Zoom-lens long range vision that would (obviously) also allow macro close-up inspection. Of course it would need to be coupled with photographic memory and recall to be of real use.

    … Unless flight was an option …

    • May 29, 2012 4:58 pm

      Since the first request can best be handled by a good camera, I think you should focus on the flying thing πŸ˜›

      • May 30, 2012 9:20 pm

        Yeah, but there’s the whole carting the gear around, changing lenses, dropping lenses, breaking lenses, buying new lenses rigamarole. Sooo much easier if you could just use your own eyes as the camera.

        But … flight …

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 29, 2012 6:15 pm

      Hi Cathi, thanks for stopping by!

      I can see how zoom-lens + photographic memory would be helpful. Especially if you were a spy…you’re not a spy are you? Or would you have to kill me to divulge that?

      As far as I’m concerned, any thing goes with super-human abilities. Sky’s the limit-or, in the case of flight, rather not. πŸ˜€

  2. May 29, 2012 4:54 pm

    Sounds pretty amazing! I think I’d want some superhuman strength. πŸ™‚

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 29, 2012 6:17 pm

      Christy, thank you for stopping by!

      Psst, that’s what I’d want too. πŸ˜‰

  3. May 29, 2012 6:32 pm

    Merge is an interesting idea. I hope to make more time to keep up to date with the rest of the stories before it’s all over.

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 30, 2012 10:13 am

      Kyle, I think it’s a great idea too. πŸ™‚ If you subscribe to 1889 Labs’ MERGE mailing-list, they’ll update you with information about when each story releases!

  4. May 29, 2012 10:32 pm

    The ability to foresee the future:)

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 30, 2012 10:12 am

      Hi Heather!

      Good one! Though I think I’d work myself into a panic attack any time something even vaguely resembled “the end of the world”. πŸ˜‰ Or would you only want to see *your* future?

  5. Mohammed Chotia permalink
    May 30, 2012 12:10 pm

    To be able to phase through things.

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 30, 2012 4:33 pm

      Good one, Mohammed! πŸ˜€ Thank you for stopping by!

  6. May 30, 2012 12:42 pm

    I would like the ability to shapeshift into anything. Although I reckon that you still wouldn’t be allowed to shapeshift into inanimate things (the whole “would you lose your consciousness and be unable to change back” dilemma…)

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 30, 2012 4:34 pm

      Hi Anna,

      It’s good enough for Gargoyles (turning into stone for example), why not humans? πŸ˜€

  7. Artemis permalink
    May 30, 2012 1:55 pm

    The world of Long Way Down is very interesting but the truth is I don’t want to be part of this world.
    Thank you for the great giveaway!

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 30, 2012 4:35 pm

      Artemis, can’t fault you for that! Thank you for stopping by!

  8. May 30, 2012 9:19 pm

    I want to be small and flluffy so that people want to pick me up and pet me and cuddle me. A lot. Sheesh, I am so needy.

    • June 1, 2012 7:12 pm

      I have a cat who’s small and fluffy, but he sleeps on my face so I wake up with fur balls in my lungs, so to me, that’s not very appealing. Maybe a lizard instead? Lizards sound like fun!

      • Soleil Noir permalink*
        June 3, 2012 5:36 pm

        MCM,
        Can one cuddle a lizard without the fear of crushing it?

  9. Na S. permalink
    June 1, 2012 1:38 pm

    I like the set-up for the stories and I’m also wondering how the stories will hold up together. It’ll be itneresting to see the different angles of it.

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      June 3, 2012 5:33 pm

      Na S.,

      My thoughts exactly. I’ve been so impressed with the concept and the general quality of the stories thus far!

      Thank you so much for stopping by.

  10. June 1, 2012 5:14 pm

    I really wanna win now…..

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      June 3, 2012 5:34 pm

      WotV,

      Can’t say I blame you. πŸ˜‰ So many fantastic goodies!

  11. kleed56 permalink
    June 1, 2012 5:44 pm

    I would want the one where I can steal other peoples abilities. All your powers are belong to meeee

  12. June 1, 2012 7:30 pm

    Sounds like a great read. I think I would want to be really strong, crush cars kind of strong πŸ™‚

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      June 3, 2012 5:37 pm

      Jolene,

      You and me both! Thank you so much for stopping by!

  13. June 2, 2012 12:58 pm

    uhmm, how about a transhuman with super fast movements with strong white wings! LOL i’ve always wanted to fly since i was a kid, and to move extraordinarily fast to hasten all house chores.. lol

    im enjoying this blog tour.. the posts are so fun to read! πŸ˜€

    thanks for the giveaway! i’m entering! πŸ™‚

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      June 3, 2012 5:38 pm

      Adelei89,

      Aren’t the other sponsors great? I’ve had a lot of fun reading other blog posts and getting to know all these fantastic authors and readers. πŸ™‚

  14. Na S. permalink
    June 4, 2012 3:35 am

    What I like about these short stories is that they are related somewhat to each other and continue on some points. It’s sort of like enjoying the best of both long and short stories. I agree, a short story can be great since it uses language concisely and yet can still say so much.

  15. Sabita R permalink
    June 4, 2012 1:48 pm

    I want to phase through objects and into places, imagine all the money I can save on travel πŸ™‚

  16. Sastun permalink
    June 5, 2012 11:10 pm

    Desperately want to read these works. The more I hear about them the more invested I become.

  17. Evie permalink
    June 6, 2012 10:28 pm

    These stories seem so intriguing! I really want to read them now.
    Thanks a lot for the giveaway!

  18. Astri Nasthasia Videlia permalink
    June 7, 2012 5:23 am

    This is the first book?? God.. I should put this on My next read list.. ^^..

    Thank’s for sharring the Riview… πŸ™‚

  19. June 7, 2012 6:14 am

    Hee hee, I am doing the Blog Tour trying to write something useful so that my comments are not simply there for the giveaway… but I am going to allow myself a silly(ish) comment this time.

    I’d like to have my cat’s ability to sleep soundly anywhere! If you have a cat and know how they sleep, you know why!

  20. June 7, 2012 9:55 pm

    Hmm. .. maybe invisibility? haha, I’m not sure… I think I’m pretty satisfied being a regular human πŸ™‚

  21. June 9, 2012 11:55 am

    These stories are quite intriguing. Great Blog Tour folks!

  22. June 9, 2012 12:16 pm

    Free agent? Seems good! I love short stories πŸ˜‰

  23. Elizabeth permalink
    June 9, 2012 5:08 pm

    I would want perfect timing and foresight!

  24. Bing permalink
    June 10, 2012 2:12 am

    Great review! I’ve always dreamed of being able to fly. That way I’d be travelling around without having to worry about the costs of air tickets πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

