Skip to content

Gentlemen Prefer Nerds by Joan Kilby

April 11, 2012

Self-professed nerd Maddie Maloney is an expert on jewels. Jewel thieves are another matter entirely! So when a mysterious Englishman warns her that a thief known as The Chameleon is after the rare pink diamond on display in her aunt’s shop, she tells herself it’s just a joke. Even if she can’t get Mr. Tall, Dark and Handsome out of her mind…

But Fabian Montgomery doesn’t give up easily. He’s everywhere she goes, convinced the thief will strike. And when the diamond does go missing-and Maddie is suspected of stealing it-he whisks her away from the police and together they pursue The Chameleon.

Fabian plunges her into a glamorous world far from her humble workshop and transforms geeky Maddie into a sophisticated siren capable of espionage. Her mission: to seduce The Chameleon and steal back the diamond.

But Fabian isn’t telling her everything-like who he works for, and why he’s so interested in The Chameleon…

Full Disclosure: I requested this book from the author, Joan Kilby, in return for a review. Positive or Negative.

Every once in awhile, I need a ‘sweetness and light’ book to not burn out on all the dark fiction I read. When I saw Carina Press’ newsletter promoting Gentlemen Prefer Nerds, I knew I had a winner.A geeky heroine? A mysterious Brit? Jewel Thief?! Count me in! It’s nice to see geeks as MCs in the rise of the Geek Revolution, don’tcha know? Maddie, said geeky heroine, is very likeable. Though I couldn’t relate to her vast knowledge and fixation on jewels, I thought the author did a good job of making me, the reader, understand it. Besides, how could I not love a cat owner? Meanwhile Fabian made for a charming hero. I appreciated his by the book attitude and determination to devote everything to his mission. And I loved the exotic Australian setting!

I really appreciated the light-hearted humor, mostly Maddie’s spy hijinx. I giggled a lot.  Maddie’s family also provides a very interesting-and hilarious-dynamic.

Gentlemen Prefer Nerds by Joan Kilby is a fun, quirky, romp-and great for a quickie read! Take the afternoon off, put up your feet and prepare to lose yourself in a charming romantic adventure.

You can purchase Gentlemen Prefer Nerds at Carina Press, Amazon, and B&N.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

