Skip to content

Red by Kait Nolan

September 2, 2011

Every fairy tale has a dark side…

Elodie Rose has a secret. Any day, she’ll become a wolf and succumb to the violence that’s cursed her family for centuries. For seventeen years she’s hidden who and what she is. But now someone knows the truth and is determined to exterminate her family line. Living on borrowed time in the midst of this dangerous game of hide and seek, the last thing Elodie needs to do is fall in love. But Sawyer is determined to protect her, and the brooding, angry boy is more than what he seems. Can they outsmart a madman? And if they survive, will they find a way to beat the curse for good?

Full disclosure: Thank you to Kait Nolan for sending me the review copy of Red.

Red might be Kait Nolan’s first step into the YA genre pool, but it’s a lot more exciting than the majority of YA’s I’ve had the pleasure to review.

Elodie is the descendant of Little Red Riding Hood, or rather, the girl who inspired the folktale. And as we all know, there’s a lot more going on in folktales than the text is often willing to share. Elodie’s tragic family history, heavily documented by the women who endured it, is no different. Because of the letters left by her mother after her tragic death, Elodie believes she is cursed…but is she really?

Well, I’m not a fan of Great Big Misunderstanding plots, but I was still charmed by the concept and by Elodie. Especially after she “grew a backbone” as one character commented.I liked that she was a practical, independent heroine, and that there is a reason for her to be as practical and independent as she is.

Sawyer was a perfectly adequate YA hero. I actually thought he was a lot more “together” than the vast majority of YA heroes. However, I did not read him as a particularly angry or brooding character that he is portrayed to be in the synopsis. Actually there’s a very refreshing lack of brood in Red, if you discount the first chapter.

My only real complaint about the book is the antagonists. They fell flat for me. Because of the spoiler-ish nature of one of them, I can’t go into great detail about this. However, I will say that I wasn’t willing to go with Elodie’s declaration that “stereotypes exist for a reason”.

But before the madman was unmasked, I felt Kait handled and built up the Suspense very well. The pacing was on point, and she peppered quite a bit of chuckle-worthy banter in for Elodie and Sawyer. All in all, a good read and I would be interested in reading more YA stuff by Ms. Nolan should she decide to write more. I definitely recommend Red to any YA fans out there looking for something new.

You may purchase Red from Smashwords, Amazon, Amazon UK, Amazon DE, Barnes and Noble, the iBookstore, and All Romance EBooks.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 8:30 am

    I have not yet read Red, but it is one of the next ones on my list. I have read all of Kait’s other works, and have been impressed by them all. Even if YA and Romance is not really my genre, she did more than enough to keep my attention, and I cannot wait to read this one.

    Once again a great and detailed review.

Leave a Reply

