Skip to content

Monster Story by McCarty Griffin

March 19, 2011

Christy McCauley has returned to West Virginia at last, but her homecoming quickly turns into a surreal nightmare. In the deep hollows and woods of rural Augusta County, something unspeakable is slaughtering people in the dark of night. Authorities don’t know if its human or animal, or how to stop it. Christy and her friends only know they must hunt it and destroy it, before it kills again.

Full Disclosure: Many thanks to McCarthy Griffin for the review copy!

There’s something you all may not know about me. Something that, if word got out, could completely destroy my reputation. But I figure, hey, we’re all friends here. You all seem like a trust worthy lot. I mean, it’s not like you can you can copy and paste what I say here to millions of other places for anyone else to point and laugh at me for hours on end. This isn’t the future, we’re not on that crazy ‘internet’ thing.

Except it is and we kind of are. (Where the hell’s my flying car?)

Look, the cold, hard, painful truth is that,no matter how much of a badass I portray myself to be (cue crickets chirping), when it comes to horror movies…I bawl like I’m my very own bitch. Glinda the Good Sister has never let me live down the time she dragged me kicking and barely self-contained screaming to see Texas Chainsaw Massacre. I still haven’t managed to see 28 Days Later in its entirety, despite having made the effort three times.

However, and there’s always one of those right? I. Love. Werewolves. And not just the sexy ones that hail from Urban Fantasy (although I’m even more fond of those than UF Vampires). Oh No. I love the ones that go bump in the night for blood and unchecked rage. So I was only too eager to dive right into McCarty Griffin’s Monster Story.

I made the mistake of reading a few pages one night when I couldn’t sleep and only ended up giving myself the wiggins. (“Wiggins?” Who the fuck says “Wiggin’s” anymore SJ?” Sorry, been watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer lately. I’m on Season 3! Right, none of you care, back to reviewing). In the end I had to turn on the TV and watch the Food Network to lull my very aware subconscious into believing that nothing was going to appear out of the shadows to attack and or make a meal of me. Because I’m 12, apparently.

Having said that, I liked that McCarty went the route not often taken. Because this isn’t a werewolf story to me, it is exactly as the title states: a monster story. The “were” is just as feral and horrifying as the “wolf”. In some ways more, because as humans, I think we have a hard time seeing anything that looks like “us” as monsters and Christy and friends spend a lot of time wondering about the moral ramifications of dealing with what they are dealing with because of that.

There are a few scenes I would suggest investing in a night light for. And this is definitely not your book if you are in anyway squicked out by even the slightest suggestion of gore. Oddly, I’m not as bothered by it in books as I am in movies, even though my imagination has sent me on some doozies of a fear trip. Make of that what you will.

Other things I liked….well, there is a sweet little romance subplot that I wasn’t expecting and found charming in it’s understated way. Graeme stole most of the scenes he was in and became my favorite character of the piece. (Next to Jabba. *g*) Christy and Graeme’s bickering nicely toned down the tension. And, without spoiling anything, I had an uncontrollable gigglefest when the author pulled a Han Solo moment. Objectively, it worked well in the scene, I was just tickled by it.

There were times when  I felt the dialogue and exposition to be unnecessarily repetitive but nothing that can’t be overlooked.

If you don’t mind books that make you sleep with the covers over your head, I definitely recommend Monster Story. You can purchase at Smashwords, Sony, and B&N.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Les permalink
    May 29, 2011 4:21 pm

    Now when you say review copy do you mean you got something special, or did the author just send you a copy of the story to read? Loved the review, can’t wait to read the book!

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 30, 2011 5:49 pm

      A copy of the story, which as far as I’m concerned, is something special.

Leave a Reply

