Skip to content

Carnal Secrets by Nadia Lee

February 16, 2011

Carnal Secrets by Nadia Lee

After a rapid change in management, Natalie Hall is surprised to find that she’s being promoted so quickly. But when it becomes obvious that the new CEO is interested in her on a more personal level, she pushes him away — she doesn’t want to repeat her past mistake of giving her heart to the wrong man.

A self-made billionaire, Alex Damon has his own reasons for pursuing Natalie. Her adoptive father, a powerful U.S. senator, is using his political clout to protect his friends the Rodales, who Alex intends to destroy for ripping his own family apart when he was a child. Furthermore, he suspects that Natalie is spying for the Rodales.

What he hasn’t planned on is her unflinching sense of loyalty and integrity, the sizzling attraction between them that threatens to turn into something much more, and the dark secrets that can destroy them both.

Full Disclosure: This book was sent to me by the author because I’m awesome easy, apparently.

You almost can’t tell from the cover-because it’s subtle that way- but this book features an interracial romance. You might not care about this, I do. I’ve always, always, ALWAYS wanted to find authors who write  minorities as Main Characters, and hold a soft spot in my heart for interracial couples.

But I almost passed on reviewing Carnal Secrets because I don’t find myself enjoying contemporaries often. I liked Nadia Lee’s writing style (especially her descriptions, which are usually unique, wistful, and charming) so much though, that I decided to give it a try and I’m SO glad I did.

Natalie is a very intelligent, classy and conservative (read: repressed sex kitten) heroine whose dark past and complicated family lifestyle had me scrolling through pages. I read the entire thing in one afternoon. Her Asian ethnicity isn’t superfluous, it’s there for a reason. The story would not have been the same if she were a Single White Female. It’s a HUGE source of conflict (not necessarily between the Hero and Heroine), not just an accessory to make the heroine seem “exotic”.

And her Hero, well… You know, it’s odd. I’m starting to like heroes who aren’t the typical Knight in Shining Armor types. Alex Damon has his own agenda and when he first pursues Natalie, it’s under false pretenses. But he’s not a complete bastard. I find heroes with money about as interesting as I do wealthy men in real life-that is to say, I don’t but Alex won me over much the same way he did Natalie.

By liking her cat. *grin*

Oh come on, you didn’t think I was really going to let a spoiler slip by did you?

In fact, the thing I liked most about this story is that no character is completely unsympathetic. (Well, except Alex’s mother…) Under their ruthless shark-like business tactics, the characters maintained a sense of human vulnerability that made you really feel for them even when they acted unscrupulously. Shades of Gray is a big draw to me in fiction of all types.

For those of you who are more inclined to Contemporary Romance than I, I think you will really like Carnal Secrets. It’s got wonderful pacing, smokin’ hot build up and follow through scenes for the Hero and Heroine as well as a supporting cast who, while are not always likable, feel very human. There’s also some really cool yet subtle culture tidbits for the more geeky of us to ooo and aaah over. So far, it can be purchased at All Romance E-Books, Amazon US and UK, and B&N for the Nook.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 10:48 pm

    Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed the story. 🙂

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      February 17, 2011 12:58 am

      You’re most welcome, and thank you so much for stopping by Nadia. 🙂

Leave a Reply

