Skip to content

Her Fallen Angel by Felicity Heaton

January 11, 2011

I deserve to have my ass kicked. I know, but in my defense? Murphy’s Law totally made me it’s bitch. Lost the internet at a completely unexpected and inconvenient time and realized I hadn’t downloaded the e-books I’d been solicited to review onto my hard drive before the net went down. But I’m back now, so enough about me and on to the review!

Annelie fell for Lukas the moment he walked into her pub three years ago. He’s stunning, his vivid green eyes lending to his otherworldly beauty, but he’s seriously out of her league. When he tells her that she’s beautiful and confesses that he wants her, she can’t resist him and his passionate kiss. She unleashes her desire and seizes the moment and Lukas with both hands. But Lukas has a secret, one that will test Annelie’s love for him and threaten to tear them apart.

He’s an angel.

Annelie can’t believe it when Lukas says that their feelings for each other aren’t a sin, but she can believe his pain when he tells her the reason he’s on Earth. He is fallen, cast out of Heaven as punishment for a crime he didn’t commit. Lukas isn’t about to give up and accept his fate though. He’s determined to prove both his innocence and his love for Annelie, and to show her that the intense passion they share is real.

When Lukas and Apollyon discover who framed him, will he be able to stop them from going after Serenity and Annelie? Will he be able to protect the woman he loves and fly away with her into their forever after?

Full Disclosure: I didn’t pay for this book.

This is a continuation of the Her Angel series that started with Her Dark Angel, the cast of which make more than a small cameo in Her Fallen Angel.I really enjoyed the interaction between the two couples, the girl talk had more than few giggle-worthy moments.

Ms. Heaton kept the same level of heat in Her Fallen Angel as she did in Her Dark Angel. That is to say, Très chaud! My french is probably as bad as the heroine, Annelie, but I figure I should get points for trying. Luckily Serenity, the french witch who starred in Her Dark Angel, didn’t mind stumbling through English.

Unfortunately, I felt the same way in regards to what stood between Lukas and Annelie as I did about what stood between Apollyon and Serenity. It would have made more sense to me if Annelie harbored doubts about Lukas’ innocence-since she doesn’t really know him very well aside a few conversations they’ve had at her pub, which mostly focused on her- instead of worrying whether or not loving an Angel was a sin. It’s not that I don’t like internal conflict, I just didn’t feel it went deep enough. But then I have to keep in mind the length of the work, which is why I’m not shy about my preference for reading longer work.

There were a few grammatical errors and wordos but nothing that can’t be overlooked. Ms. Heaton writes with such light-hearted charm that it’s hard to pull your attention away from the story. Once I downloaded the book to my hard drive, I read it in one sitting. Bam.

If you enjoy a quickie read every now and then to feel refreshed, you might want to check out Her Fallen Angel.You can find it at Amazon, Kobo, Fictionwise, and the Sony Reader Store.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

