Skip to content

Pink Buttercream Frosting by Lissa Matthews

October 2, 2010

Desire: Blend sinful with sweet. Whip to perfection. Don’t forget to lick the spoon…

Aidn Greer is a much-sought-after Dominant in the BDSM lifestyle with an unusual problem. He hasn’t owned a submissive in more years than he cares to think about. He’s bored with unchallenging women, yet mentoring other Doms and training subs has left him cold as well. He’s craving something other than plain old vanilla—a taste of something sinfully sweet that, for once, he can really sink his teeth into.

Professional cake baker Bailey Harris wasted ten years bored to tears with her marriage, enduring a job she hated, and harboring a secret desire for something passionate, fulfilling and dark. Then she found it…in the world of BDSM. Exploring on her own brought the kind of mind-opening experiences that led her to declare her independence—and exposed a yearning to find the one Dom for whom she’s willing to kneel. Permanently.

When Aidn and Bailey meet, it’s fire and ice. Sugar and spice. And an experience that satisfies every detail of both their fantasies. Almost. While the big, beautiful sub is everything Aidn wanted, her fierce independent streak could be more of a challenge than he bargained for…

Warning: This book brings together scorching-hot counter sex, decadent pink frosting, and no-holds-barred BDSM play for a spanking good time. Be sure to bring an ice-cold drink along…

Full Disclosure: I did not pay for this book. I requested it personally from the author in return for a review of it.

I kept wishing this book was longer. That things just had a little more time to develop. I always say this about novellas though. I’m just the type of person who likes things to be longer. (I’d tell you to get your mind out of the gutter but well, mine lives there.)

I don’t think there was anything particularly ‘sweet’ about this book aside from the one scene of  play with frosting (yum!!). From the very first interaction between Aidn and Bailey, things were sizzling with the intensity of a small volcano that threatened to erupt the minute they were even remotely ‘alone’.

I did wish there had been more cake-ingredient fun. Although maybe I shouldn’t since I’ve got one sick sweet tooth now…

I really liked that Bailey was a bigger girl but was also equally annoyed that Aidn kept initially bringing up, in his own mind, that she wasn’t his usual “type”. It fit the plot, as Aidn, for reasons I won’t spoil, likes to keep things casual. And it gave him room to grow but I didn’t like him initially for that. Yep, that’s me. Defender of the flawed. Flaws are beautiful though and big girls need love too.

The blurb is a little misleading. Which is probably not the author’s fault. I don’t think Bailey’s “fierce independent streak” even came up into the conflict at all. She was only ever too willing to please Aidn. As she, as a ‘natural Sub’, should. It’s the whole allure of the Sub/Dom relationship. To give ones self completely, to trust so fully. It’s the ultmiate level of intimacy…and the thing that draws me to this particular type of erotic again and again. Bailey was a Sub with a capital S.

Although I admit I did cringe once.

It hasn’t happened often, but and as I’ve said before in previous review, sex is so personal that sometimes as a reader you will take to some things more than others. And sometimes…you get a “squick” moment. Something that you just balk at. In Hurt Me So Good, it was one of the side character’s kinks. In Pink Buttercream Frosting….I usually don’t like to give spoilers but since this device was only ever talked about and never used…dildos.*shudder* I can’t for the life of me understand why a man would want to use one on a woman when he has the real…er….equipment.

Different strokes for different folks, I guess.

All in all this was a perfectly dirty fun two hour romp read. A real “quckie”. I always like getting to find new authors as well. Lissa Matthews is defiantly worth a read if you like your books unapologetically dirty and with an emphasis on Dom/Sub relationships.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

