Skip to content

Her Dark Angel by Felicity Heaton

September 2, 2010

An angel without a mission, Apollyon lives trapped in Hell guarding the bottomless pit. Surrounded by endless darkness, he longs to fly free on Earth once more but his master hasn’t called him in centuries. When the call finally comes, it’s to serve a new master, a beautiful woman he has often watched over, a woman who has always captivated him.

Serenity is shocked when a gorgeous black-winged angel shows up in her city of Paris claiming that she called him when she was only casting a simple vengeance spell. He’s no other than the angel of death! When Apollyon offers to obey her and help her have revenge on her cheating ex-boyfriend, she can’t resist the temptation, but can she resist him? Can an angel as dark as Apollyon ever fall for a mortal woman like her?

Dark, passionate and erotic, Her Dark Angel is a tale of intense desire and deepest forbidden love guaranteed to get your heart racing.

Full Disclosure: I did not pay for this book. I was asked directly by the author if I thought the book might be to my tastes to which I said, “hell yes.” And that, as they say, was that.

First of all, I have to say, the first few scenes of this novella are artist crack. I got such a visual overload that I am just dying to draw a woman in red standing by the Eiffel Tower, and Apollyon’s “Hell”.

On to the review…

In all honesty Her Dark Angel didn’t strike me as particularly dark. Passionate? Yes. Erotic? Double yes!!…

But I found it incredibly light-hearted. This is not a criticism. In fact, I’m pretty sure it’s more of an indication of just how bleak MOST of the fiction I read is. Because Apollyon? The hero of Her Dark Angel? He is the freaking Angel of the Apocalypse! No, that actually isn’t a spoiler. Infact, I’m not really sure there are any spoilers to be given. I couldn’t even if I was feeling exceptionally naughty.

And after a book like this? Well…it’s hard not to feel a little naughty. *g*

I would definitely categorize this as a “quickie”. “Quickies” are an my affectionate term for erotic reads that steal an afternoon that I was supposed to spend doing something entirely different from me.

But …the problem I find with most “quickie” reads is that they don’t leave me fully satisfied….

While I enjoyed watching the romance between Serenity and Apollyon blossom, I couldn’t help but think that there really wasn’t anything keeping them apart to begin with. At least nothing strong enough. The external conflict was just barely visible, and I have to say, very quickly resolved. And the resolution of the internal conflict seemed a bit too…easy. Which goes back to my earlier point, re: there not being much to keep them apart in the first place.

Having said that, while “quickies” may not leave me fully satisfied, I do like them, and I did like Her Dark Angel. It was the perfect afternoon getaway. I relished in the heat building between Apollyon and Serenity. Their courtship was both sweet and spicy. Ms. Heaton had me hot and blushy by the first sex scene, which isn’t an easy feat these days.

One thing I would have really liked to see was Serenity using more of her witchy talents for things other than removing their clothes. Not that I didn’t like that particular trait (I’d want it). But instead of being told that Apolloyon gave her the confidence in her “otherness”, I would have liked to have been shown.  Especially if she’d hexed that low life ex-boyfriend of hers. That would have been awesome.

Me?? Spiteful? Naw…

If you’re like me and enjoy a quickie read every now and then to feel refreshed, Her Dark Angel is definitely for you. It’s a highly erotic, highly entertaining read clocking at 124 pages filled with fun, mushy romance, and sex. and artistic crack.You can find it at Amazon, Alinar Publishing, and Fictionwise.

Thank you so much to Ms. Heaton for letting me read your book. I hope to see more of your work in the future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 4, 2010 2:26 pm

    Thanks for the review! I’m glad Her Dark Angel has inspired you. I’d love to see your interpretation of Apollyon’s Hell. I tried to capture in the book what was in my head. Hell features again in the second story, Her Fallen Angel. Now I’m thinking about what I would draw it like.

    🙂

    Felicity Heaton

Leave a Reply

