Skip to content

Alien Revealed by Lilly Cain

July 19, 2010

Alien Revealed by Lily Cain

Inarrii agent Alinna Gaerrii was tasked with observing the Starforce base on Earth. Crash landing her observation pod onto the base was not part of her mission briefing. Neither was making m’ittar–mind contact–with Major David Brown, the human who discovered her amongst the wreckage. David thinks she’s a psychologist sent to evaluate his Special Forces team, and Alinna goes along with his misconception, seizing the opportunity to observe humans up close. But their daily contact has unexpected side effects, and Alinna soon invades David’s dreams. Through their intimate mental connection she allows him to express his forbidden physical desires. Alinna delights in the sensory exploration and grows excited by the prospect of a treaty with the humans and a potential life mate in David. But an attack from an unknown ship sends the base into chaos, and Alinna may be forced to reveal her lie, erasing all hope of a successful treaty, and driving David away forever…

Full Disclosure: I did not pay for this book. I requested it as a reviewer on NetGalley.com.

From Page one, sentence one, Ms. Cain drops us right into the thick of conflict with Alinna’s crash land on earth.A very tense and somewhat amusing scene, Ms. Cain definitely has a healthy sense of humor. This is especially true in how she wrote for the militaristic mind set of her Special Forces characters.

Sparks fly between Major David Brown and Alinna almost immediately….but he thinks she’s someone else, by his own assumption. Alinna knows she’s in danger as a spy on this alien world, and playing along might just keep her pretty skin in tact. So she’s all content to play the role he’s donned upon her, while also feeding her own ambitions; an up-close-and-personal study of human behavior. What better way to understand this race so like her own? What better way to see how their races might work side by side?

But secrets don’t stay secrets for long. Especially after David’s 2IC discovers Alinna isn’t Dr. Janet McPherson. Though she doesn’t quite think she’s an alien spy either.

I loved, loved, loved Ms. Cain’s Special Forces characters and am only sad that there wasn’t enough room for them to develop further. This is a pretty short read. 111 pages in all. I also felt she handled the male POV well. And Alinna, while an Alien, is still very relatable, even more so for being out of her element.

While I enjoyed Major Brown and Alinna’s interactions out of the bedroom, I didn’t find the sex scenes particularly hot until later in the book. However, my reasoning is biased.  At first I was pulled out of the story because I didn’t honestly believe that a man’s wet dream would revolve around the woman’s needs. So I did what any professional does in this situation, research via trustworthy guy friends.

After much snickering and teasing that made me very red in the face, they informed me that I was apparently very wrong about this. My bad, Ms. Cain.

The second sex scene just wasn’t my cup of tea. So that’s on me. But even though it wasn’t my thing? It made perfect sense for the characters. So this isn’t a huge thing for me, and in fact, it’s not even a critique of the author. It’s personal, rather than business, and from the other reviews I’ve seen of the book? I’m in the minority where that scene is concerned.

Now from the third sex scene onward? Totally had my attention. *Shrugs* But sex is such a personal thing that it’s quite easy for an author/reader disconnect to occur. I defiantly wouldn’t say it’s a reflection on the book, just my personal tastes. So take this with a grain of salt.

The antagonists were…….not on screen for the most part. But since I believe this to be a “build up” novel, I’m letting it slide. The focus was the relationship between Major Brown and Alinna, after all.

Although I will say Alien Revealed is probably the equivalent of a “quickie”; I felt happy at the end to have gotten “some” (and by ‘some’, I mean reader satisfaction, you guys. Geeze.) but was still left wanting a little more… and since this seems to be the first book of a series set in the same world, it makes me happy to know there is potential for more. Because I think I might enjoy reading more about the other races of the Confederacy.

Also,I think I have to second wanting some tattoo-like nerve endings after reading this.

If you’ve liked what I’ve had to say, you can get a copy of Alien Revealed at Carina Press.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

