Skip to content

Claimed by Zoe Winters

May 31, 2010

Claimed by Zoe Winters

For a vampire, Anthony isn’t a picky eater, but he’s drawn to Charlee’s blood more than any other.  Like a fine wine saved for a special occasion, he’s denied himself this pleasure.  But one night, high from the potent  magical blood of another, he claims his prize and loses control. Ashamed of almost killing the one woman who means anything to him, he wipes her memory of the event.  When Charlee awakens with complete amnesia, Anthony is the only one who can clean up the mess he’s made.

It started with Kept

But if I’m being honest, I liked Claimed even more than I did it’s predecessor. For one, Vampires never get old for me. I will always read books featuring them. Even if some leave me going ‘wtf?’, I still hold out for the stories about these bloodsuckers that will make my toes curl.

Claimed is one of those books.

Charlee and Anthony’s dynamic had me curious in Kept,but as I saw their relationship shift and change  and evolve in Claimed, it only became more intriguing. I was absolutely enthralled with each and every interaction between the two of them.

Even when separated “on screen”, I loved both of their characters individually. For an odd reason.

They both had incredibly selfish moments. You may think it weird, but that struck me as realistic. You know, considering we’re talking about a Vampire. (I don’t care what anyone says, Anthony’s confession was just right for his character. I. LOVED. it.)

And I loved Zoe’s take on the Vampires.  I’m convinced it might be my favorite take on the old myth thus far. I’m loathe to spoil anyone but I will say that Zoe’s vamps are manipulative as hell. And they LIKE being what they are.

And I loved it.

Zoe seems to have really come into her one both in her world and her writing in this novella. It’s subtle, but the writing feels more confident and refined while still having that quirky humor I so adored in Kept and that had me giggling both appropriately and inappropriately. I’m just that kinda gal, I guess.

We’re also introduced to a character named Jane, who is the main character for Mated. I’m frickin ecstatic and cannot wait to get into her story. She strikes me as an enigmatic character, and those are some of my favorite heroines. She’s not quite what she seems and we got a little hint of that in Claimed.

Over all? Favorite Zoe Winters book and couple thus far. We’ll see if that remains the same or if Zoe kicks it up a notch (which I suspect she will if Claimed is any indication) with Mated. After all, I love werewolves even more than I like vampires…

You can find Claimed on Smashwords and Amazon. Zoe, please let me know if I missed somewhere!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 9:26 pm

    Thank you for the lovely review! And nope, you didn’t miss anywhere! It “will” be available at the Sony ebookstore, Apple ibookstore, Kobo, and B&N.com but I don’t think it is yet.

    I’m glad you liked Claimed. I’m told by most readers that Claimed and Mated are better than Kept, much stronger works. Which is something I like to hear because it means I’m growing as a writer. My only concern is… since it’s the opening of a series, if Kept is strong enough to carry the series as the starting book. I may revise/expand it a bit if I can make it a little stronger.

    Hope you like Mated!

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 31, 2010 10:31 pm

      Oh yes, I did see that you’re compiling all three into one novel, which is AWESOME. (And I looove the cover art, did you make that one two because it’s gorgeous!)

      I don’t think Kept is “weak” by any means, (then again, I don’t think any of the books in my keeper file are, and Kept is one of them). And to be honest, I think the nature of the beast with series is that the writer, and the writing, gets better with every book. 🙂 I like it because, as you said, it shows growth to me, as a writer, which I love to see in other writers, especially ones who have already gotten their work out, and I, as a reader, get to be wowed with each book.

      But if you really do want to revise/expand Kept, you won’t see me standing in your way. 😉 It’d be cool to see what changed from the original the the revised version, from a writing stand point and the story is so good that I can only imagine what it would turn out like if you decided to do a bit more with it. Either way, I can’t wait to see any other plans you have for this series!

      I started Mated a few hours ago…you were right, *bites nails* I’m identifying a little too much with Jane.

      • May 31, 2010 10:52 pm

        No, the cover art was done by Anne Cain. It’s being redesigned because the artist was only willing to license the artwork for 3 years at a time, at which point IF she decided to relicense it, there would be another fee. That is totally in her right to do, but I need my cover art indefinitely and I need my covers in a series to match. So the artwork is currently being redesigned by another artist who can work within the terms I need.

        And oh MAN, I could name so many authors where the books just started getting awful after awhile. I used to love the MaryJanice Davidson Undead series but the last few books she’s been completely phoning it in. I’m not sure what that’s about.

        And I think the Sookie books have been getting a little weaker.

        Awww yeah, Jane tugs at my heartstrings (I think we should make that phrase illegal cause it sounds so gross.)

        Save My Soul comes after Mated, it’s considered book 2 in the overall larger series. (the Blood Lust compilation being book 1). I’m hoping to have it out by January if not before.

Leave a Reply

