Skip to content

Kept by Zoe Winters

May 26, 2010

What's that thing they say about the enemy of your enemy?

Greta is a werecat whose tribe plans to sacrifice her during the next full moon. Her only hope for survival is Dayne, a sorcerer who once massacred most of the tribe. What’s that thing they say about the enemy of your enemy?

I don’t usually review free reads but since this is the first in a series that I am revieiwng that AREN’T free, (and I have MUST-READ-IN-ORDER Syndrome), I figured, what the heck? It’s for a good cause.

And by a “good cause”, I mean I’m pushing good books on you, so shut up and like it. (Did I mention it’s free?!)

Zoe Winters is a total riot. I loved her quirky sense of humor sprinkled through out Kept. Especially when it spilled over into her world-building. Catnip as an actual drug? Awesome. When Greta fell over laughing like a maniac and rolling around on the floor after lighting some up, I just about did the same. Rolling around and laughing, that is. Not smoking. (I said no to drugs ya’ll. Doesn’t mean I don’t find it high-larious-hahaha, get it?!!- when fictional characters don’t. Cause I’m not judgmental. )

Also, a website that Dayne, the hero, uses to procure blood for his spells, Theriantype.com, which I understand is an ACTUAL website that the author made. How frickin’ cool is that?? I’ve actually been on it and it’s fascinating. I realize I’m outing myself as a geek but well, it’s the truth.

These are such little details but they made the world and the book so much fun to read about. I loved the dark bits of the world too. Blood Magic, Memory-wiping. Mmm-mm. Good stuff.

I did feel at times that things moved a little too quickly for my tastes (and just to be clear, I’m not talking about the romance aspect) , but if I’m being honest, I much prefer that to the alternative. It is a novella after all and on the plus side, Kept never lagged. I read it in one sitting. For real.

Even when I was sure I liked the book, the chemistry between Dayne and Greta really made it a Keeper for me. Like ice cream on an already well frosted cake. Yum! Dayne’s not the typical hero. He’s kind of a bad ass sorcerer who uses Greta’s people’s blood for spells. I, for the record, love badassery and unconventional heroes. They are the very best kind.Dayne’s no exception.

It also helps that I liked Greta a lot. She’s spunky, something you’d expect from a woman who can shift into a cat, but she also has a docile side. Something I personally love because I dig three-dimensional characters.

The sex scenes left me all tingly.

So did the climax (of the conflict, you sick puppies.). Although maybe “shuddery” is a better adjective. I’m not in the habit of giving spoilers and I’m not going to start now. Especially since it is free. But I will say she touched on a few of my phobias. I’ll give you a hint, It’s got nothing to do with blood.

And once again, Fall In Love With Side Character Syndrome reared it’s not-so-ugly head. I’m pleased that I will be reading about Anthony and Charlee very soon since they were both victims of said syndrome and the protagonists of Claimed, the second book in the Blood Lust series.

I swear, I will never tire of Vampires. Although I do like shape shifters better. *grin* For which, I can see I’ve found a new source of shapeshifter-book-crack for. Zoe Winters, consider yourself solicited.

You can read Kept here. For Free. You know, incase you didn’t hear me the first few times I mentioned that. Why are you still here?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 7:15 pm

    Thank you for the lovely review! If you have Side Character Syndrome, you’ll love me. Mated has a side character from Claimed as the Heroine. And a side character from Mated is the villain of the next book Save My Soul, then a side character from SMS… well, you get the picture.

    😉

    So glad you liked it!

  2. Soleil Noir permalink*
    May 26, 2010 7:33 pm

    Zoe, AWESOME. Did you plan it that way or did the characters sort of just take over? I LOVE when side characters get their own book. I get to fall in love with them all over again, and “Anthony” is one of my favorite guy names so, *le sigh*. Hehehe.

  3. May 26, 2010 7:35 pm

    Every time when I’m writing something, other character start wanting their own stories, LOL. Jane, in Mated was supposed to just be a character who showed up for two seconds to tell Charlee where the bookstore was. That was her entire purpose to the story. But Charlee got curious and I did too and followed her… so she became a pretty key side character in Claimed, then she got her own story in Mated.

    I think Anthony is a really sexy name too.

  4. May 28, 2010 1:12 pm

    OMG…I love your reviews!!

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      May 31, 2010 6:30 pm

      Thank you Sherri. 😀

Leave a Reply

