Skip to content

24 Bones – A Review

June 21, 2009

I was immediately drawn to this book by the name.

An indication that I watch entirely too many dramas. “24” and “Bones” being two of my favorite shows at the moment.

Of course, this story has nothing to do with either. It’s just recognition you know? I kept wondering if the author had done that intentionally (of course, it is tied to the plot, therefore not being just buzz words used only for hype), but  it sure left me with an impression, even before I laid eyes on the gorgeous cover art portraying Samiya!

I know, I know. I gush constantly over Drolleire’s fab cover art, but how can one not? And I love all the cool little graphics they pack into the PDF, every books seems to get its own personal touch which I think is pretty awesome of them.

The Blurb:

Seth, Horus, and Osiris are reborn, fated to re-fight their greatest battle.

Samiya, an Egyptian woman, and Taggart, a Canadian professor of Comparative Religion, have nothing in common, until they find themselves on opposite sides of a bloody war for causes neither is sure they believe in.

The Balance is in jeopardy, and either The Fullness: humanity, law, and reason; or The Void: animal instinct, chaos, and death; will soon rule the world.

But which is the right side? Reason has ruled for centuries. Is it time for Chaos to have a chance?

Multicultural main characters + Egyptian mythology + strong main female character +EPIC three-sided battle  + Fated DOOM + Shades of Grey?

Um, Mr. Stewart? You had me at “hello”.

Or rather, his first scene. A baptism of sorts involving the five elements. Water, Earth, Fire and Air. I was utterly captivated from them on. God, I’m such a culture geek and I swear, 24 Bones is like crack to a culture geek (figures, he has a B.A. in History), but its more than that. Mr. Stewart’s style is very to the point without being rushed. He gives you enough description (beautiful by the way) to ground you, then moves on. Enough emotion to stimulate your own, and so on. I love finding male writers that can do emotion effectively without making me think that they were trying too hard and I think Stewart had a really nice balance.

And this IS  a thriller. Fast paced and a ton of fun, but that is not to imply that it is in anyway lacking in depth. A big theme is Balance of Power. Chaos vs. Order. Light vs. Dark, or in the case of Taggart and Samiya, Fullness Vs. The Void. And, as I mentioned, lots and lots of gray shades, something that has a HUGE appeal to me as a reader. These are the kinds of stories I live for (if you’ve no doubt surmised from my love of Joely’s work).

However, a warning. If your religious sensibilities are easily offended even in the face of something clearly FICTIONAL, you may want to skip this book. I’m not going to go into detail. Don’t like? Don’t read. That is all. Although I’ll pity you the loss of a fantastic read.

Now for the rest of you rational, fantasy-lovin’ myth-craving folk. This is DEFINITELY the book for you. Full on, thoroughly engaging, not preachy, action-packed fun. Treachery abound and honestly, I loved every minute of it. I think its best when the lines are blurred. When you’re not quite sure whose side you are or should be on. From the very beginning, I knew who I was rooting for, and it wasn’t a side so much as a character. Samiya, a truly amazing character who I think may have knocked someone off my top-ten list. 😉 She’s THAT cool.

But I’m not telling who won, who lost, or who suffered brutally only to be a pawn to the whims of the gods. That, my dear reader, is for you to find out.

And then tell me, whose side are you on?

If you’ve been intrigued about what I’ve had to say about 24 Bones, do yourself a favor and read the excerpt here, or if you don’t need the teaser and want to jump right on in to the story, allow me to direct you to Drollerie’s bookshop where you may pick yourself up a copy. Should you need further coercing, Michael Stewart has been doing some interesting posts on 24 Bones over at his website.

Happy reading!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2009 9:05 pm

    I love Egyptian mythology, so this is definitely on my list. Thanks for another great review!

  2. Soleil Noir permalink*
    June 21, 2009 11:19 pm

    Joely- I’m having entirely too much fun with these reviews. Luckily the books have all been consistently good reads. 😀

    I think you’ll enjoy 24 Bones a lot! And since its a thriller it may spark some pacing inspiration for RX. Or at the very least, give a quick peek into the genre.

  3. June 22, 2009 6:34 am

    Thanks, Soleil, what a wonderful review! I appreciate it so much.

    MFS

  4. Soleil Noir permalink*
    June 22, 2009 10:27 am

    Michael- You’re most welcome, I hope to more of your work in the future. 🙂 Thank you kindly for stopping by.

  5. July 23, 2009 10:38 pm

    Well, Soleil, dear… YOU had ME at ‘hello’. What a fantastic review! I’m so totally hooked! Like I NEED another book to read!! aaarrgh! Oh, well. too late. it’s already on the list!

  6. Soleil Noir permalink*
    July 26, 2009 11:28 am

    Bethanie- You’re too kind. 🙂 I hope you enjoy 24 Bones if you decide to get it!

  7. September 3, 2009 11:51 am

    Hi, Soleil, you’ve done a tonne for me already but I thought I’d ask if you wouldn’t mind posting your review to the 24 Bones Amazon page. Totally understand if it’s not your policy. Thanks in advance.

    MFS

Leave a Reply

