Skip to content

Dear Sir, I’m Yours – A Review

June 17, 2009

Joely gets the best covers EVER.

Seriously, if there is a cover art fairy, she’s hoarding it. Or maybe just blessed by it. Hell, if I were a cover art fairy I’d hang around Joely too, she writes some of the most emotionally gut-wrenching stories I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. And considering she usually writes Fantasy, the switch to contemporary read seamlessly.

God lover her, I don’t know how she does it, continuously turning out great read after great read.

The Blurb:

This professor’s final exam includes a spanking.

There’s no house restoration too challenging for Rae Jackson, a.k.a. “The Fix-It Lady”. There’s no fixing the past, though. Like the day she left college. A semester of flirting with her English professor ended when he spanked her to the best orgasm of her life. Afraid of her own eager willingness to comply with the sexy dom’s commands—no matter what—she fled.

Yet not even five years can dim her memory of his masterful touch.

Conn never forgot the one student who gave him a big fat “F” on the greatest test of his life. After all these years, he’s still haunted by his uncharacteristic loss of control. When he finds the very object of his shame—and desire—crawling around under his grandmother’s house, he swears to do anything to win Rae’s trust.

Rae finds herself helpless against Conn’s slow seduction. Exactly the way she likes it. Instead of poetry, this time she learns the erotic pleasure to be found in bondage…and submission to the sexiest professor alive.

Warning: Explicit sex, spanking, light bondage, a crazy old lady who talks to ghosts, and one lethal pink parasol.

Dear Sir, I’m Yours is a red hot contemporary romance with depth and some wickedly awesome characters. Passionate does not even begin to describe it. You might want to have a fan near by for this one, or schedule in a cold shower afterwards.

Dr. Hotnes-er, Dr. Connagher, that is, certainly had me squealing just about every other line. I would add to the warning that this is not for the faint of heart, nor the prudish. Me, closet pervert and BDSM-curious that I am? Adored it. There’s a little bit of something for everyone here. The depth of Conn and Rae’s love will appeal to romance readers, the HOTHOTHOT sex scenes for the erotica scene (or for those, also like me, who are fascinated by the psychology of sex), even a touch of paranormal, which I wasn’t anticipating but greatly appreciated. 😉

Which reminds me, I want to be like Miss Belle when I grow up. Pink parasol and all, but minus the cooking skills, or lack thereof.

If you’ve been intrigued by what I have to say, I sincerely recommend you hop on over to Samhain‘s website and pick yourself up a copy.

And you’re in  luck, it seems Joely Sue Burkhart is doing a bit of a “Behind the Scenes of” week over on her blog. Today she’s talking about the playlist for Dear Sir. If your a writing geek like me, check it out! I always love seeing what tunes inspire my favorite authors, and she has some great taste in music.  😀 I’m greatly looking forward to the next installment in “The Connaghers” series.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 7:17 pm

    *sappy grin* Thank you so much, Soleil! I’m thrilled you enjoyed it!

  2. June 17, 2009 7:45 pm

    You are NOT kidding, Soleil. This story is just liquid, it’s so hot. Scalding, in places!

    And I can personally guarantee that the next installment will only be…juicier. *wink*

    Now, I admit, usually the final product is a lot different from what I get to read in snippets and blurpets, but I am never, EVER disappointed. My beloved sister always delivers the goods. She’s just amazing enough to do it in just about any package you like!

  3. Soleil Noir permalink*
    June 18, 2009 10:01 pm

    Joely- 😀 Thank YOU for always providing me with great escape reads. Really hope for Dear, Sir to do well.

    Gutterball- *ggg* From the bit that Joely has divulged to me about the sequel…I think I can safely take your word for it (but I won’t, bwahaha!)

    It’s great to see such sibling love. 🙂 You two are so great for supporting one another, I think its awesome.

  4. laughing365 permalink
    July 17, 2009 8:36 am

    This book is amazing!!! I bought the ebook (the first I’ve read by this author) and I LOVED it. So much that I’d love to own it for my bookshelf. I really hope it eventually comes out as a paperback! Conn makes my heart melt.

  5. Soleil Noir permalink*
    July 19, 2009 12:18 am

    Laughing365- Thanks for stopping by, always a pleasure to meet someone with the same taste in books. And isn’t Conn to die for? 😉 If my professors are that yummy I’m going to be in trrrrooooouble.

Leave a Reply

