Skip to content

The Road to Shanhasson- A review

May 30, 2009

Note: This is the Second book of Joely’s (epic!) Bloods and Shadows trilogy. To read my      review of book one, The Rose of Shanhasson, go here. I strongly recommend buying it if you haven’t already, and if you are interested in what I have to say about The Road to Shanhasson here, as Joely says that it is difficult to understand Road if you have not read Rose. Well worth the purchase. Onward.

Note the second: Joely has a cover art fairy god mother. Deena, your work is absolutely stunning.This was just the PERFECT cover. It still makes me all tingly looking at it.

For a short snippet of what I said about Rose:

“The characters and their world will haunt me for the rest of my life.”

Yep. Still haunted.

I should call this “Soleil’s Squealing Corner”, but well that doesn’t sound as professional does it? Not that I’m by any means a professional reviewer. I do this for fun and love of story not money.  And boy do I love Joely’s books!

Blurb:

Shannari has survived her enemies’ plots long enough to return to the Plains with Rhaekhar, but their new life together will not be easy. First, she has to get through a wedding ceremony that will make both him and his personal guard, Gregar, her co-mates…without anyone dying. Since both she and Gregar are Shadowed, that may prove to be an impossible feat.

Tensions redouble with her return and Rhaekhar is further away than ever in uniting the Nine Camps of the Sha’Kae al’Dan. His enemies have the perfect weapon to use against him: his outlander woman.

And no matter how far she is from the political–and deadly–waltz of the High Court, her destiny drags her step by reluctant step to Shanhasson. The road back to Shanhasson is thick with shadows and stained with blood. How many of her loved ones will die in her fight to claim the Rose Crown?

Warnings: Explicit sex, violence, torture, sadomasochism, menage a trois, and an impossible battle against an enemy that can’t die again.

This is “Gregar’s Book” and EVERYTHING is upped! The magic, the blood, the sex (always white hot and overflowing with passion). And  Joely’s great with pacing. Although there are a lot of relatively “peaceful scenes” before the big battle, they’re chock-ful of tension. Erotic and otherwise. 😉 And she’s always got neat little twists up her sleeves that she drops on you at the best of times. And a wicked sense of humor that she skillfully weaves into her best characters. (Gregar, Sal, Rhakehar. Even Shannari lets her hair down and gets some great one-liners!)

But reader, be warned. This book literally tore my heart in two when I read it the first time. I had tears streaming down my face. But I love books that make me FEEL as opposed to leaving me lukewarm, so this was the perfect book for me. If you’re hopped up on Romancelandia’s supposed “rules”, this may not be the book for you. Me? I think some rules were meant to be broken and Joely breaks them superbly. I LOVE series books and I love THIS series. “Road” is a great sequel to Rose and has me pining for the third installment, tentatively titled Return to Shanhasson.  But seeing how busy poor Joely is and intends to be, I might have to wait awhile. (*off screen* *SOOOOOOOOOB* CRUEL FATES!!!)

Ok, ok. I’m composed. I can wait.

forliketenseconds.

Hey Bethanie, can we share Gregar doll while we wait please?

Like Rose, I highly recommend The Road to Shanhasson for every lover of Romance, Fantasy, or even better, both. It has just about everything you could possibly want in a book with characters you love (and love to hate!), who make you jump for joy, laugh out loud, cry your eyes out. The Blood and Shadows Trilogy is quickly becoming my favorite series and it has a permanent place on my ever growing virtual keepers shelf. (Though I have every intention of getting printed copies a.s.a.p…. I must. There’s simply no living without them. Say Joely, you’ll sign mine if I send it right? Pretty please with naked Gregar and whip cream on top? 😀 )

Thank you kindly for taking the time to read this review. If you are intrigued/liked by what I’ve had to say, and or want to buy the book just for the cover (Hell, I would have!!) then please, support my favorite author. Her books are my crack. Can never have too much. Head on over to Drollerie Press and pick up a copy. While you’re there, check out Rose if you haven’t and some other DP goodies.

Should you need further persuasion, allow me to point you in the direction of Joely’s free read, The Shadowed Blood, prequel to the Bloods and Shadows trilogy. If that doesn’t hook you-well, I have to wonder if you’re not made of the cold mechanic things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2009 1:26 pm

    Thank you so much for your review, Soleil! I’m ecstatic that you enjoyed it. I will definitely sign you a copy once it’s in print — but I don’t know what I can do about the naked Gregar on top….

  2. Soleil Noir permalink*
    May 30, 2009 5:50 pm

    Joely- You’re most welcome! Re-reading totally made my weekend. And thank you so much for linking back and tweeting on twitter about the review. It helps my (not quite evil) plot to get people hooked on the series. Bwahaha!

    As for naked Gregar…well I always have my imagination for that one. 😉

Leave a Reply

