Skip to content

Bump In The Night- A Review – PART THREE Ghosts

May 16, 2009

Vampires, Zombies and Other things that go BUMP IN THE NIGHT

Drollerie Press has made me a happy happy girl. As they are prone to do with their delightful tales of Transformation and Myth.

In case I haven’t previously made myself clear beyond the shadow of a doubt (or you’re new here, in which case, HI there!), I. LOVE. Dark Fantasy. Reading it, writing it, watching it on T-Bowe’s big ass screen.

In short: It COMPLETES me.

So when Drollerie Press held an event, either last month or the month before, giving their loyal readers a chance to download a Sneak Peek of Bump In The Night, their new Dark Fantasy/Horror release, I knew I was sealing my fate when I clicked the big red shiny button. (Ok, ok, the button was neither big, nor red, nor shiny but work with me a little.)

The three short stories included in the sneak peek had me HOOKED. I needed the rest of the supply, and soon, BookJunkie that I am. I was so dismayed that Joely’s fabled and much talked about Zombie Love Story wasn’t included in the sneak peek but I knew that I would be getting the Antho as soon as I could got my hands on some cash.

As luck and tremendous generosity would have it, I got Bump In The Night a lot quicker than I thought I would. Fortunate I am that Ms. Fisher has liked my reviews thus far. I’d like to take a moment to thank both Joely Sue Burkhart and Ms. Fisher for the opportunity to review Bump In the Night. It is my favorite Anthology thus far and I hope that Drollerie will produce more Dark fantasy Anthos in the future.

(We Can Haz Werewolves next time, maybe, pretty pwease with sugar on top?)

Ahem, on to the review.

To serve as a Blurb, I will use a snippet from the DP website announcing Bump In The Night’s Release (go here to read full post):

We have an amazing line-up of authors. Tim Mulcahy’s story, “Monday Night at the Vampire Lounge” has been joined by two other Paul Altimari stories. Connie Neil provided us with another story about her vampire nun, Heather Ingemar provided two stories, one a vampire and one zombie tale, and Joely Sue Burkhart actually pulled off a zombie romance. I didn’t believe anyone could do it when she took up the gauntlet during chat, but I should have realized–if anyone could do it, Joely most certainly could. Tim’s zombies aren’t too shabby either, with some definite zombie/vampire flirtation going on. Heather’s poor zombie, however, was unable to do more than yearn from afar.

Each section is dedicated to a particular monster, and ends with Tim’s former cop, who finds himself in a truly bizarre situation, and every time it gets a little weirder.

There are quite a bit more stories in Bump in The Night than there were in StereoOpticon. This is by no means a complaint. But, as not to make this THE POST THAT WOULD NOT DIE FOR THE STORIES OF THE UNDEAD, (for that would be far too ironic even for I) I’ve decided to do them in three part increments as they appear in Bump In The Night.

Part One for Vampires (read here), Part Two for Zombies ( read here) and Part Three for Ghosts (the current post). Oh my!

Now, let us get to those Delightfully Mischievous Apparitions …The Founders of The Haunted House 😉

Note: These were either written directly after I read the story of each title, or while I was reading it (because I had to either make note of something I fear I might have forgotten otherwise). I didn’t think it was possible, but I enjoyed them all. Though I admit whole heartedly that I enjoyed them to varying degrees and some a lot more than others.

However, in the interest of other readers, I’ve done my best to portray an objective opinion regarding each title here. By giving each story its due without curry-favoring. I hope that I accomplished this, but know that I am human and prone to error-and damnit not all stories are created equal. I have a hard time curbing my enthusiasm for stories that really make my heart sing. So, it’s quite possible that said enthusiasm will shine out through the reviews of my very favorites.

Also, keep in mind, I’m by no means a “professional reviewer”. I do this for fun and for the love of good stories.

The Injured Hitchhiker by Glynn Custred

Aside from an awful lot of telling versus showing and repeated unnecessary dialogue, the story in itself was not bad. The title is pretty much a good hint at what you’re getting into. Gil, the MC meets an injured hitchhiker-girl, in this case- whom he decides to walk with to her destination-which happens to be an abandoned build. Now, Gil might be blind, but he’s not deaf and he’s damn sure he didn’t hear her walk away when they decide to part. Bewildered, he confides in his friend Lucy, who’s pretty sure it was just some kid playing a prank on him. But as the story continues, so does Gil’s obsession as he finds more and more reason to suspect that the girl he meant might not have been among the living.

I did like the cute very undertone romance, but unfortunately I can’t give away who its between. You’ll have to get a copy and read for yourself. 😉

Bien P’Tit Gens by Kathryn Magendie

This one is written in third person present tense, but done in such away that it comes off poetic. Maelynn has had a hard life, and on top of that she’s just “lost” her son and husband. Late at night, she lies in bed and cries, swearing she hears voices. Voices that bring up a lot of repressed memories and feelings. Also had a bit of telling vrs. showing but given the length of the story, theres’ not really much the author can do about it. The narrative however, is engaging and Maelynn proves to be an interesting character to get to know the more she is driven towards the voices.

Sword of the Dead by Berrien C. Henderson

Set in ‘The Days of Old’ as opposed to ‘The Here and Now’.

Ragnar needs a sword, his is, well, quite frankly, old and worn. Broken in his late battle, An heirloom passed from his grandfather to his father and although there is much legend surrounding it,  he’d much rather have a new!shiny sword, preferably one made by the infamous Njori. So he sets off on a perilous journey, meets an old friend and a few new allies, and braves much hardship to seek out the blacksmith Giant, only to find he can trust none of them if he wishes to make it home in one piece….and yet theses still so much more in this little tale.

I’d love to tell you how the “ghost” aspect comes into play but the tricksy author made it part of the spoiler. Sorry.

Hobbyhorse, Hobbyhorse, Where Have You Been? by Skadi Meic Beorh

If the title isn’t enough to freak you out (What? No one told you? Nursery Rhymes are scaaaaaaaary, especially when chanted by little kids.) Hobbyhorse deals with a very troubled little boy by the name of Cal, who just lost his father (an ill tempered man) and whose unconscious fears are popping up in his dreams, as they are wont to do. I don’t want to give away anything but…my heart dropped at the ending. I cannot find the poem which runs throughout the text, making me believe that it is the creation of the author, and if such is the case, I would like to point out that it is beautifully written, but did its job in being creepy when combined with the heart of the story.

Suburban Legend by Eric R. Lowther

I had way too much fun reading this, and enjoyed the protagonist’s dilemma a little too much. Josh Morgan is heading into Columbus on business when his car breaks down. Just his luck, it also begins to rain. But he’s not about to just sit around and wait for the damn thing to work on its own. Little does he know he’s about to get some unexpected help from a girl in a 50’s get up whose not quite what she seems….

😉 This one had some very interesting plot twist in my opinion. Fun read.

June’s Flowers by Olga Zilberbourg

Olga Zilberbourg has an interesting style. Don’t know if some of it was just an experiment for this piece or if she usually writes this way but it was very interesting. This is the tale of three friends who go off on a road trip the the Grand Canyon, have some peculiar adventures on the way, but don’t make it back. At least, not amongst the living.

Wednesday Night At The Haunted Inn by Tim Mulcahy

Wow, a story told from Linda’s POV. NICE. Tim Mulcahy’s a guy with my kind of humor. The opening scene had me rolling.

Paul, being made the mortal master of a coven of Vampires and Zombies through a series of hilariously unfortunate events, has to keep moving from place to place if he hopes to not catch the attention of the authorities. Unfortunately, not all of his Vampires or Zombies are able to keep a low profile. And now there be mischievous Specters to deal with…as well as an old not-quite-friend of Linda’s. Chaos ensues, as it is wont to do. Another great fast paced read delivered by Mr. Mulcahy.

Whew, and now we conclude my review!

If you liked and/or are intrigued by what I’ve had to say thus far, I urge you to head on over to Drollerie Press and pick yourself up a copy. You’ll be glad you did!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

