Skip to content

Survive My Fire- Mini Review

February 25, 2009

Thank God.

Survive My Fire is the best novella of 2009 that I have read thus far. And this is not me being generous, for I have read some really sucky books as of late. (Joely, thank you so much for pulling me out of the pile of suckitudious reading!) Not that I expected any less. I’m pretty damn sure at this point that I’ll never be disappointed with her stories or the directions she takes them and I’ll sing the woman’s praises to any reader because she’s just one hell of a story teller. Whats more, is that every one of her books that I have read have stood up to the last. She hasn’t fallen below the bar, she’s only reached higher.

Best of all, this was only the first book I have read out of my winnings so it feels wonderful to start off on a high note.

I absolutely love the mythology she creates for Keldar. The gods, their names, their purpose, nothing is thrown in half hazerdly for the sake of just being there. Instead she integrates it into the story in a way that makes it seem that much more tangible, that much more three-dimensional. I truly envy (in the best possible way) her world buidling skills.

And the characters, well, Joely’s just excellent with characters.

Personally, Chanda had me at the tag line.

“Hundreds of warriors have braved my domain. They came and they died. I killed them all.”

She didn’t disappoint me. Chanda is one of those women scorned that that the saying “hell hath no fury” was named for. It could have been very very easy for Chanda to seem petty, but of course, the author handled it just the right way. Chanda is both believable in her anger as she is in her new found love. The subtle changes in both her character and Jalan’s was handled beautifully.

And for such a short read it was jam packed.  Romance (Read: Warm Fuzzies and Hot sex). Fantasy (Read: Magic, Suspense, And Dragons, oh my!). Hell I even got a nice juicy battle to chew on, and I looove battle scenes. Two thumbs way way up! Hmm, maybe I should think of a rating system…. 9 ‘for the wins’? 😉

To learn more you can hop on over to Joely’s site. In fact, here is the page for Survive my Fire, where you can read an excerpt. Or if I somehow managed to persuade you with my non-existent reviewing skills, you can go directly to Drollerie Press and get yourself a copy, or if your cash-deprived, just drool over the pretty covers and think of what might have been as I so often do when I’m supposed to be writing.

But I never told you that ok?

——–

Sayonara Wonderland.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. wolo permalink
    February 25, 2009 11:06 pm

    I love that tag line, holy shit. L.O.V.E.

  2. Soleil Noir permalink*
    February 25, 2009 11:27 pm

    Wolo- I know right? 😉

  3. February 26, 2009 8:13 pm

    Soleil, I’m so thrilled that you enjoyed it! I didn’t plan to write Chanda in first person, but when I started her backstory research (I sometimes write little character letters in first person), her voice came through loud and clear. I couldn’t stop. The Keldar mythology really helped me firm up the Shanhasson side, too, so I’m really glad this story showed up! Thanks for the lovely review!

  4. Soleil Noir permalink*
    February 26, 2009 10:57 pm

    Joely- You’re most welcome. I’m so glad you did write her in first person, because her voice is really gripping. I especially liked the conflict between Somma (“She Who Hung The Moon”, I love that.) and Chanda. Well, actually, the conflict between the gods and the Keldari on the whole was very intriguing.

    I’m glad you enjoyed the review and thank you so much for taking the time to read it. 😀

  5. February 27, 2009 7:56 am

    Ah, yes, this is the story that first hooked me on Joely and then made me a raving Joely-fan-girl. 😀 Absolutely one of the best stories I’ve ever, ever read. I recommend it vociferously to everyone I meet who reads! 😀

Leave a Reply

