Skip to content

Taurus

February 14, 2009

(Part of Joely’s 101 Ways to Love Your Characters)

Taurus

April 21st-May 21st

*”I Have.”

**”What’s Mine is Mine. What’s Yours is Mine.”

***”Take care of the sense and the sounds will take care of themselves.” – Lewis Carroll.

Element

Earth. As in Mud. As in Mud Wrestling.

Now tell me, have you ever seen a wimpy mud wrestler? Yeah, didn’t think so.

Polarity

Feminine….wait.What the frack? Isn’t ‘Bull’ in itself male? Er, right. Just the facts, ma’am.

Think Cher. Or Calamity Jane. and in the name of equality: Pierce Brosnan.

Quality

Fixed. Which means stable and persistent. In Taurus’ case, think of an immovable object.

Symbol

The Bull. But don’t be too quick to pull out our red cape and tight pants just yet, Torero. Remember? Immovable Object. If you are not in and of yourself an unstoppable force I suggest you get out of Taurus’ way. Quick.

Ruling Planet

Venus, goddess of love, lust and hedonism.

Governing Anatomy

The Throat. Usually sore from all their blustering.

Preferred Allies

Capricorn, Cancer, Virgo, Pisces.

Polar Opposite/Suggested Love Interest

Scorpio….Funny since I’ve never met one of the male variety. (Consciously)

Best adversaries

Aries, Gemini, Libra, Sagittarius.

Chief Need/Want

Comfort. In all aspects of life.

Fatal Flaw

Stubbornness

Positive Traits

Affectionate, Trust-worthy, Practical, Reliable, Patient, Persistent, Strong-Willed, Determined.

Negative Traits

Possessive, Jealous, Indulgent, Greedy, Stubborn and Inflexible in their opinions.

CC101-BULLS-EYE

(Realized I might have been going about this all wrong, and since I don’t have a Taurus character [or rather, a conscious one] you get to see me make one. Using only what I have here as a basis. This is VERY sketchy. Not by any means polished, but that doesn’t mean you can’t tell me where I messed up. In fact, I would greatly appreciate it. This is my work, please do not take it as your own. Rights reserved and all that good stuff.)

Sariah was no more than the size of a Shetland pony, but only when she was not looking directly at anyone. Somehow, some way, looking her in the eyes always made Derro feel small and insignificant. A fact he loathed admit, even to himself but he took great comfort in knowing he was not alone.

Better yet, he had never been the object of her wrath. Not like the poor bastard he watched now.

“Lady, these are the finest short bows in all of Garleigh and I won’t sell for less than-.”

Sariah thumped her fist down on the table which wobbled in the wake. Derro’s glass tipped and spilled over, but he knew now was not the time to be affronted over petty things. “You’re mistaken, bowyer. I’ve a cousin. No more than ten years of age, mind, an apprentice. Could create what you have here before me.” She sneered then spat on the floor next to his feet.

Unable to keep a straight face, Derro snapped his finger at a passing bar maid with goldie-curls all a bounce as she stepped lithely to and fro. Better she think it a leer than to piss off these two further, he thought. “Starsted, please.”

“Might I suggest you then hire your tot cousin?” The bowyer asked, and his nose curled as he eyed the swab of saliva next to his boot.

Derro winced, anticipation seeping into his stomach. He placed a hand over his face to shield himself from the onslaught of what was to come. He was well prepared for the gnashing of Sariah’s teeth.

Instead he heard a thump.

Curious, Derro moved the finger that obscured his view and saw that Sariah had reached across the table and slammed the man’s head against their table. Upon which, the bowyer now rested, limp. She stood over him, her hand on the back of his neck. “I know not what manner of men you have here on the West Range, you lowly cur, but from whence I hail, we do NOT leech off of our family’s livelihood!”

Derro swore. “Sah-“

Sariah held up a finger. “Not now,” she said, rather calmly despite the lines etched into the space between her eyebrows. “I’ve been patient. I’ve been kind, Zaron. Two months-two!-and I did not complain.” She moved closer to the man’s ear, yet her volume grew. “You know not how I detest the West Range. You’re all lazy, inconsiderate and reek of the swine pins.”

Derro felt the corner of his mouth dip as he looked around, somehow hoping that the buzz of the bar room would have drowned her out. Except, the buzz had ceased, and every head was turned their way.

“Ah, Sariah,” Derro murmured. “I think that would be our cue to leave.”

“No.” She said, still glaring daggers at the back of the bowyer’s head. “I have not yet drowned my sorrows over these low grade quivers.”

“Yes well-” Derro stood as he saw a group of men walking towards them, and touched her shoulder. “Maybe in another time, another place-far, far away from all the people you happen to piss off.”

Sariah shrugged her shoulder and released the man’s neck before dusting herself. “That just leaves the Isles of Mornark. And their ale  tastes like horse piss.”

“Mmm-hmm.” Derro said, checking over his shoulder as the men advanced. “And one day I will be sure to ask how you know to compare it, over a cup, but that day is not yet here and I’d like to live to see it.”

Sariah sighed. “Fine.”

She dipped low, snatching the commissioned pieces from the man’s sack. She turned, pivoting on the balls of her feet, and stood back to her full height, two arrows notched to the string and aimed on the oncoming group. “But I want to be very very drunk within the next three hours.”

“I think you’re half way there.” Derro said, catching a hint of movement behind him. He turned his head to see Zaron lift his own from the table, his shoulders still slumped forward. Derro sucked in a breath as he caught sight of the blood running from the man’s nose.

Zaron huffed air through his mouth as if it were a toxic gas caught in his throat. “I thought you said they were low grade.”

Derro turned back to Sariah as she smirked, obviously catching something he had not. Still, she did not waver, keeping her eyes focused only on the oncoming crowd.  “From whence I hail, we also do not blame our tools for our lack of ability. And if and of you doubt my ability, you’re welcome to step forward.”

Yes, Derro thought with a smirk of his own as he surveyed the men she had given pause, he would definitely be getting Sariah very very drunk later.

In Practice

As I said before. I’ve never consciously created a character that I thought of as being a Taurus, well, until now. It’s probably because of my lack of first hand knowledge of Taurens in general. I have yet to meet one outside of the blogosphere. (At least, that I know of.) This was a rather fun exercise and I can definitely see myself using Sariah and Derro again.

So, any Questions? Comments? Want to put me in my place? Notice any Tauren traits in your own Characters?  Have at people, floor’s all yours.

———————–

* Motto of the Taurus

** Taken from Born on a Rotten Day by Hazel Dixon-Cooper

** *Wish I could take credit for this, but Linda Goodman’s excellent book on Sun Signs was the first to associated Alice in Wonderland quotes with the Zodiac. I picked the ones I liked the most of her selection.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2009 6:05 pm

    Hee, hee – I love Sariah! She reminds me very much of Kesera, a character from my first novel who will be featured in my blog post tomorrow. 🙂 Like Sariah here, she’s, erm, a wee bit headstrong and opinionated… 😀

  2. Soleil Noir permalink*
    February 14, 2009 6:49 pm

    Bethanie- Awesome! I look forward to reading about her. 😀

    Glad you liked Sariah, she was fun…that whole snippet came out of no-where this mornning. Was really weird. Maybe I should try writing that early everyday, but I already see myself making excuses to stay in bed. *laughs*

    Now that I’ve finished the brunt work of all 12 signs, I think I’ll go reward myself by reading everyone else’s posts for today.

Leave a Reply

