Skip to content

Thursday Thirteeen #11

February 12, 2009
tags:

In Honor of Joely’s Character Clinic and in no particular order-Thirteen of Soleil’s Favorite Characters in Books.

(Cause I could be here all day. Maybe next week I’ll go into characters in shows/movies/etc.)

1. Gregar from Joely’s Shanhasson trilogy. (I told myself only one character per author too, because I also COULD be here all day just talking about the cast of Joely’s-and other great writer’s-worlds.) Wicked, charming devil that he is, it’s hard not to fall in love with the Shadowed Blood as Shannari herself would attest.

2. Ivy Tamwood from Kim Harrison’s Hollows Series. I’m a sucker for strong tragic characters. She always sings off the page for me, and I never can wait long enough for her get back “on screen”.

3. Nogusta of David Gemmell’s Winter Warriors. The first “hero” I fell in love with as a reader, written by the first author who ever inspired the thought “I want to be a writer when I grow up”. I believe this was also the first book I read by him. It’s been awhile since I’ve revisited it and writing this now makes me eye it from across the room with longing.

4. Wesley of William Goldman’s Princess Bride. “INCONCIEVABLE”, you say …Yeah, I know, you probably thought I would have picked Inigo Montoya-and I DO love his character-but Wesley was more than an adequate hero for me and had some wicked funny banter. Plus, dude, PIRATE. *g*

5. Ms. Murphy of Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown’s Ms. Murphy Mystery Series. What can I say? I’m a cat person, and I like mysteries, and if a cat can solve them, well, I’m in. 😉

6. Cormack of Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty series. A werewolf named Kitty who hosts a talk show for the paranormal…yeah, I dig it. I dig the bounty hunter even more.

7. Mercy Thompson of Patricia Briggs’ Mercy Series. GAH, Im sooo frickin’ behind in this series.

8. Machiko Noguchi from the Alien Vrs. Predator books….Yeah, I’ll be the first to admit they aren’t anything special and severely lacking in tension but I like them despite their faults and Machiko was enough to keep my interest. Im a little miffed at the way they handled the yuajta culture at times since, I’m a predator fan, but meh, happens.

9. Domingo Chavez of Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six. Almost forgot this one. Heh, my friend would have crucified me for it too.

10. Talyn of Holly Lisle’s Talyn.

11. River of Skyla Dawn Cameron’s River.

12. The Cheshire Cat of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland.

13. Rafael of Lynn Viehl’s Darkyn series. I seriously need to get this woman’s in-print books. Those are going to be my next book-buys so help me.

——–

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 13, 2009 8:11 am

    Wheeee, Gregar made the list! That’s awesome! I see several of my personal favorites on your list too!

  2. Soleil Noir permalink*
    February 13, 2009 4:52 pm

    Joely- 😉 Gregar is way too dynamic to miss. Which ones do we share in common if I may ask? 😀

  3. February 14, 2009 10:16 pm

    Wow, a lot of these I haven’t heard of but sound interesting… but some are also my favs too! As you know, of course, I’m a gigantic Gregar fan. 😀 And Wesley is great, too, although I’d have to say Inigo Montoya could easily edge him out. And I liked the Ms. Murphy series up until the cats and the dog drove the Porche… she lost me there… I just couldn’t make myself buy that one…

  4. Soleil Noir permalink*
    February 14, 2009 10:52 pm

    Bethanie-….Ms. Murphy drove the Porche you say? I must not have read that particular book. *laughs* Either that or I blocked it from my memory.

Leave a Reply

