Skip to content

Devil’s Eye by Kait Nolan

January 15, 2011

A Novella of the Mirus

Trouble. That’s what wolf-shifter Mick Guidry thinks when a beautiful woman appears in his New Orleans bar with a hurricane at her back. His first impression is confirmed when Sophie starts asking questions about his missing waitress, Liza. Mick will do anything to rescue a member of the pack he’s made for himself, including forming an unlikely alliance with a woman with a badge.

Full Disclosure : I did not pay for this book, I got it by subscribing to Kait Nolan’s newsletter (and you can too!).

Frickin’ Sweet. That’s what I think any time Kait Nolan’s work is involved. Sure, this is only my second Nolan read, Forsaken by Shadow being the first, but I’ve learned to trust my gut when it comes to certain authors. And the Mirus books are turning into one hell of an awesome series. Devil’s Eye is just as good as it’s predecessor. Though, since the author saw fit to mention it herself, Devil’s Eye is more of an Urban Fantasy with Romantic elements than ParaRom (which FBS definitely was).  Given the constraints of the novella (Devil’s Eye takes place in little over a few hours) I didn’t think twice about it, but then I’m not fussy about Romance. I thought the development between Mick (whom I absolutely LOVE, not that it has anything to do with him being a wolf-shifter, of course not) and Sophie was sufficient and while I’d definitely love to read the rest of their story,  I don’t feel let down by the lack of an HEA.

I did not want to stop reading Devil’s Eye. Kait has a great skill for fast-paced action and a well-thought out plot. She doesn’t seem to mind getting a little gore-ie in her fight scenes too, not a bad thing in my book. I was often floored by her ability to use as few words as possible to create the greatest impact on the reader (well, this reader anyway).

I’m fascinated by the Mirus world and my curiosity was just that much more piqued with Devil’s Eye. After a long long time of reading a lot of UF and ParaRom, I don’t expect to be surprised much.Yet, I found myself surprised by some of the turns Kait seems to be taking the Mirus series down, and very excited to see further possibilities.

You can find Devil’s Eye at Smashwords, Amazon, Amazon UK, Diesel E-Books, Barnes and Noble, or if you’re broke, cheap an educated bum like myself, you can get it for free by signing up for Kait Nolan’s Newsletter.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2011 12:57 am

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it! Thanks for the review. :D

  2. January 16, 2011 1:29 pm

    Hee hee, I did the same thing though I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. But like you, Kait is an auto buy, auto read author for me. Great review!

    • Soleil Noir permalink*
      January 16, 2011 11:06 pm

      :D Thank you Sherri!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

